A Gem for Leader, Board and Strategy Meetings
The lighthouse and the layout invites to good meetings with space to the roof.
Self service or a chef across the sea?
Small, but still great
Flatflesa Lighthouse was taken into use 20 September 1902
Flatflesa Lighthouse was taken into use 20 September 1902. The lighthouse should secure the entrance through Kråksund, frequently used by fishing vessels. The lighthouse should secure the entrance through Kråksund, frequently used by fishing vessels. Establishing a lighthouse was also strongly recommended by the fishing inspectors of Romsdal and Trøndelag Districts. The lighthouse was constructed of timber. A fourth order light was placed in a cylinder shaped tower lamp on the residence. The cut-off mechanism clockwork had to be wound up every three hours.
There were also constructed an outhouse and a boathouse with winch plus a landing bridge with a swing crane. Initially the lighthouse was served by a lightkeeper with household. From 1933 the lighthouse was also assigned a reserve assistant with 6 months annual service.
The lighthouse was rebuilt in 1936 after complaints about the light being too low. A high tower of angled iron with a staircase in a tube was installed. This increased the light altitude by no less than 9 meters.
Both in 1944 and 1945 the lighthouse was attacked by Allied aircraft and severely damaged. In 1948 a third order light was installed, meaning a light intensity of 30 800 candela. Electric power from own generators was installed in 1961. After the war the lighthouse was serviced by the guard, a light officer and a reserve assistant. To-day the lighthouse is unmanned and automatic.